Sammy the Seal

“Alone, thank God”

In vinyl on Thursday, 7 July, 2011 at 17:58


Song: Hold On, Hold On
Artist: Neko Case
Album: Fox Confessor Brings The Flood

Wow. Pipes ahoy. So, I’m not melancholy at all, but this song has slowly hit me over the head the past few days (incorrect use of idiom?) with its heartbreakingcrushing honesty (see lyrics below). Disillusioned, self-loathing, and jaded aren’t exactly untapped emotional states in which art exists, but in that voice (my god, that voice!), I can’t help but listen more intently. The solo at 1:54 doesn’t wail as much as I’d like, but of course, that’s not what’s called for. And the guitar is plenty expressive as is. (I’m probably just used to rock guitar solos.)

I read that Ms. Case has flat-out said this song is autobiographical– “I mean that the song is actually about me. It’s not metaphorical about other people. It’s not little pieces of my life made into a story about someone else or someone fictitious”– and the only such one. However, she’s also said about the song:

“This song is–I don’t really write songs about myself very much, because, why would I do that? But it’s about always looking around and realizing how old you are and how not married you are and how many kids you don’t have and what a freak that makes you, but then you just have a couple and give the world the finger and you’re like, ‘I got some dogs, I win! I WIN, AMERICA, I WIN!’”

Historically speaking, game, set, and match were sewn up when you recorded this incredible song.

The most tender place in my heart is for strangers
I know it’s unkind, but my own blood is much too dangerous
Hangin’ ’round the ceiling half the time
Hangin’ ’round the ceiling half the time

Compared to some, I’ve been around
but I really tried so hard
That echo chorus lied to me with its “hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on”

In the end, I was the mean girl
or somebody’s in-between girl
Now it’s the devil I love
and that’s as funny as real love

I leave the party at 3 am
alone, thank God
With a valium from the bride
It’s the devil I love
It’s the devil I love
and that’s as funny as real love
and that’s as real as true love

That echo chorus lied to me with its “hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on”
That echo chorus lied to me with its “hold on, hold on, hold on, hold on”

Leave a Reply

