Sammy the Seal

“If the blood pumping through my veins could freeze”

In vinyl on Wednesday, 6 July, 2011 at 17:43


Song: Forests and Sands
Artist: Camera Obscura
Album: My Maudlin Career

Math formula: Camera Obscura equals lovely. Not to pigeonhole them, and besides, there are worse things to be. And the songwriting is solid, that’s kinda important. I have quite an affinity for the tinges of country they inject now and then, and Ms. Campbell is as soulful as ever. Also noteworthy: the subtle, yet nonetheless essential and delicious instrumental arrangements. Let the loping beat of the drum politely, but insistently, carry you off.

(Lyrics are melancholy, of course, but damn it, that melody! I think my favorite part is the last twenty seconds, the background “if the blood could freeze…” part kicks butt, yeah.)

“I’m in a van, and you’re holding my hand
You are traveling with me through forests and sands
I’ve been innocently learning your language,
and you’ve been taking full advantage, haven’t you?
Oh, don’t say it’s true

I lost a friend, I’m the saddest again
And we kissed once, hey, but that was in lust
I know you need more than given moments
And sentimental sorry’s and words only spoken seem lame
And I won’t win your heart that way

It feels like none of this is real
I pretend that my heart and my head are well
But if the blood pumping through my veins could freeze
like the river in Toronto, then I’d be pleased
You said I made you feel warm, said I made you feel warm inside

(If the blood could freeze
I’d be pleased, I’d be pleased)”

Leave a Reply

