Sammy the Seal

“I let my memories go… I feel low, but it feels alright”

In vinyl on Tuesday, 5 July, 2011 at 11:40


Song: Memories of the Future
Artist: Handsome Furs
Album: Sound Kapital

“Here comes the future– it’s violent and bright.” Actually, it’s just more electronic and synth-y, with even occasional flashes of house and rave. On the surface it feels less immediate than Face Control (even the moody, down-tempo Plague Park had such moments), in no small part because Dan’s guitar is mostly absent from this record, and also the beats aren’t as unforgiving (to use Mr. Boeckner’s word), and even the vocal energy seems to ebb on occasion (can’t believe I said that– I feel dirty). Or maybe just in comparison. It’s a strange feeling, and an unpleasant one, but, to borrow from the song, I’ll try to let my memories go.

Besides, if there’s one thing about being uncomfortable, it makes exploration that much more of an adventure. And, it’s still the Furs. I’m pretty sure these songs’ll rip live, as I’m sure the axe will be present. We’ll see what tune I’m singing (pun not intended–??) in a couple of weeks.

  1. […] I Get Back Damage All We Want, Baby, Is Everything Memories Of The Future Bury Me Standing* (love this one live) What About Us? Repatriated* Radio Kaliningrad* Serve The […]

  2. […] The more up-tempo, anthemic, immediately melodic songs like “When I Get Back” and “Memories Of The Future” hit me first. I admit, ashamedly, that it took the news that this would be the Furs’ final […]

Leave a Reply

