Sammy the Seal

Plum crisp/crumble

In delicious on Monday, 4 July, 2011 at 1:57

Talk about belated, this was from last Monday, but I was just too tired/negligent/forgetful to add it until now. It should be noted that this is the first time another body was allowed into my kitchen to participate in preparation, gasp! (Edit: I even let this foreigner do the dishes.) Actually, it was fine, it most definitely expedited the process and saved me some energy, so thank you for letting me order you around from time to time, anonymous person.

Note: the following made two 9-inch pie plates’ worth of dessert, so you might want to halve it if you don’t want so much. Or, cook in one large dish, e.g. a 13 x 9 cake pan or casserole dish. Or, share it with a friend, which is what I did: one for me to keep, one for her to take home.

Filling:
3 lb. plums, unpeeled, pitted
2/3 c brown sugar
1/8-1/4 c cornstarch, depending on how thin/thick you want the filling (who knows, maybe you like it a little runny)
a few dashes cinnamon

Topping (for a single dish, double if using two dishes or one large one):
6-8 T butter, softened
~ 2/3 c brown sugar
≥ 1 c old-fashioned oats
≥ 1/2 c flour
a few dashes cinnamon
a few dashes cardamom

The prep is incredibly simple. Slice the plums into varying degrees of thickness, just to mix it up. As plums are relatively soft and contain a lot of moisture to begin with, even the thicker bits will cook thoroughly. Toss all the ingredients together, mix well and coat all the plum bits. Pour into a pie plate or whatever dish you’re using. In a separate bowl, mix all the topping ingredients together. You could mix with a fork or spoon, but I prefer pressing the butter into the dry ingredients with my fingers for that DIY feeling. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the filling. Bake 40 minutes at 425º, keeping an eye on the topping so it doesn’t scorch (it shouldn’t, ours was just a deep golden brown). If using two separate dishes, store the second in the refrigerator, removing it 10-15 minutes before the first one is done. I can’t remember how long we waited for it to cool before eating, it was probably an hour or so.

Unfortunately, I didn’t snap any photos, but believe me, it came out pretty nice. The filling was a nice, bright red, which was made possible by leaving the peels on the plums. I put in 1/4 c thickener, though I actually think it could have been thinner. Oh well. They came out rather tart, even with mixed with the sweeter crumble topping, so if you’re a baby, you might want to add a bit more sugar to the filling. Slight puckering resulted on occasion, but nothing wrong with that. Maybe some a la mode would’ve been nice.

A relatively simple, and delicious little concoction. Great for subsequent breakfasts. Nice having some company in the kitchen, maybe try that again. Good time was had by both.

  1. […] shop, everything is fresh! I will do well here…”) on sale so I thought I’d make this again. Halving it, I bought about 1.5 pounds of plums. Upon prepping everything a few hours later, […]

Leave a Reply

