Sammy the Seal

“A new age letdown in my face”

In vinyl on Tuesday, 24 May, 2011 at 11:26


Song: Nitemare Hippy Girl
Artist: Beck
Album: Mellow Gold

I love that line so much. Yeah, so I don’t find this song all that catchy– this is not a slight, but objectively speaking, I wouldn’t say the song has a strong melody– and yet, at any given moment (e.g., 7:26 a.m. this morning) or during any given activity, I will find myself singing “she took me off my guard…” out of nowhere. Huh.

So, in the first couple minutes of this “video”, Beck is playing live and he takes the first lines of some of his songs (“Pay No Mind”, “Lord Only Knows”, “Dead Melodies”, etc.) and goes into one right after the other, it’s quite funny. The relevance is when he does the opening line to “Nitemare Hippy Girl” and some guy recognizes it and grunts out an enthusiastic “yeah!” (I never listen to the rest, I just like the opening.)

Leave a Reply

