Sammy the Seal

“If she seems as lonely as me, let her sink”

In vinyl on Monday, 23 May, 2011 at 18:34


Song: If Work Permits
Artist: The Format
Album: Dog Problems

The album chronicles the end of a relationship, this is its final song. Quiet, then loud. Great stuff. If it had stayed acoustic, I doubt I would’ve thought much of it. The song would have come off too wistful and plaintive, not emotional or ferocious as it befits the subject matter. Adding punch halfway through was a strong move.

These lines wanted to be the title too, but the winner has been the favorite for so long:

“All the things you have, they aren’t the same as what you hold”
“Baby, listen”
“I scream as loud as anyone, but when asked to make a point, I tend to whisper”
“I think I could make better use of my time on land”
“Love just ain’t some blood on the receiver”
“Lord knows I could use a warm kiss instead of a cold goodbye”
“Love is speaking in code, it’s an inside joke, love is coming home”
“I’m doing alright, yeah, I’m doing just fine”
and the final line (scream along with me):

“Let her!!!”

Through http://www.songmeanings.net, I found this excerpt from the band themselves about this specific song, cribbed from a livejournal entry, talking about recording the album:

“…i was 10 minutes away from where i had been the previous summer when i was back” on” in my” on and off” relationship…i was ten minutes from her…she was calling every day…i was singing about it…but how was it not getting to me? why did i not care?

my phone was off…i woke up in silverlake one morning and started wondering why for the last month i had a smile on my face…sure i was down at times…but the thing that had been brining me down for 3 years was now the last thing on my mind…apparently it had been that way for awhile…something that took 3 years to get over…i was finally just ok with it…no big realization…just the fact that things happen…people make mistakes…and i came out of it alright…i was good…not great…i was good…and that felt good…i wasnt looking for great anymore…i was ok…the last song on dog problems is all about that…here this record was supposed to be the downs…and the ups…and it ended with the middle…the realization that i dont need to be talking…i dont need to be locked in my room…i need to enjoy whats going on around me…and if things go wrong…they go wrong…theres always tomorrow”

Interesting read. Thanks guys, I enjoy the record.

  1. […] wallowing. You purge the thought and emotion without it dragging you down too much. I wrote about another Format song before, where I included co-leader Nate Ruess’ livejournal entry about the making of the […]

Leave a Reply

