Sammy the Seal

“But my hands are tied”

In vinyl on Sunday, 24 April, 2011 at 3:01


Song: Counterglow
Artist: Asobi Seksu
Album: Fluorescence

Great, more Asobi. I’ve just been feeling this one lately. And, there’s only two or three more songs, then I’ll just stream the whole album, since there’s already five tracks up. Hey, it’s still a new album, it’s only two months old. (But it feels like an old, trusty companion already.)

No disrespect at ALL to guitarist James Hanna, but I feel I’m in the majority of AS fans who don’t like it so much when he has lead vocals. I think they work much better as backing vocals, which is supposed to be a compliment, by the way. (And, conversely, Yuki works just as well backing– dig those ooh’s.) Save for their self-titled debut, this is not much of a problem, as Yuki took over almost all vocal duties from Citrus on. But, from those who like album, this is a consensus stand-out. It might because his vocals are more reverbed and processed, compared to previous albums. The groove reminds me of 90s trip-hop for some reason, correct me if I’m way off. When the snap and beat alternate during the song, I like to alternately snap and clap along. Fun. That brief synth organ (or whatever) stab at 1:51 that appears and never repeats is just perfect.

Good chill-out song. This one was definitely a grower– not earth-shattering, but I love the vibe.

  1. […] Perfectly Crystal* 5. In My Head* 6. Leave the Drummer Out There 7. Sighs 8. Deep Weird Sleep* 9. Counterglow 10. Ocean 11. Trance Out* 12.  Pink Light * “new”/previously […]

Leave a Reply

