Sammy the Seal

“I can’t be still now”

In vinyl on Wednesday, 20 April, 2011 at 2:10


Song: Strings
Artist: Asobi Seksu
Album: Citrus

I held off as well I could– I blame song shuffle. I sincerely dislike hyperbole. But this, to me, is a perfect song. Perfectly played, perfectly sung, perfectly arranged, perfectly produced, perfectly dynamic. Contrary to usual practice, there will be no further explication– deconstruction is the antithesis (and enemy) of poetry. I love every single second of this song, all 327 of them. 5:27 is the perfect length. For best effect, keep the volume high. No blast, just high. Lost in splendor every time.

(That bass line at 3:01…. thievery of The Crystals’ “Then He Kissed Me” perhaps?

Well, seeing as how the band has admitted an affinity for 60s girl-groups, and recorded a cover of this as a b-side somewhere, I’m pretty sure it’s an homage.)

  1. […] “Strings”, the song that follows “Thursday”, this is immaculately written, arranged, performed, […]

Leave a Reply

