Sammy the Seal

Orange glazed cinnamon cardamom muffin

In delicious on Wednesday, 13 April, 2011 at 20:55

Thanks to everyone who offered their propers for these things, apparently there was some kinda buzz around the office, which was flattering. I mean, these certainly aren’t high class. Really, it’s the same cinnamon cardamom yellow cake recipe I’ve used for a few years now, just iced (which I’d never done, curiously) to avoid the tedium of the same old. (Photos at the end.)

Note: the cake recipe below is for a full 16×9 cake. For muffins, I halve the recipe. Unless you want a lot more. Halved, this one made fourteen.

3/4 c butter, softened
1 1/4 – 1 1/2 c sugar
3 eggs
1 1/2 t vanilla
2 1/2 c flour
salt (shoot I never wrote this down the first time I made it– I believe it’s 1/2 t or so)
2 1/2 t baking powder
cinnamon, ground (at your discretion, however strong you want it to be)
cardamom, ground (ditto, though am not stingy with cardamom, as it doesn’t get used as often)
1 1/4 c milk

Mix the flour, salt, spices and baking powder in a separate bowl first. In a second bowl, cream the butter until it gets a bit fluffy. Then, add sugar 1/4 c at a a time while blending. After all sugar is in, add one egg at a time while blending. Then add vanilla. Then, while blending (a stand-up mixer is handy here, too bad I don’t have one) alternately add the flour mixture and milk. When dealing with flour, etc. in general, I pour it in with the mixer off, using the beaters or a fork to press a flour mixture into its moist counterpart, so flour doesn’t get kicked up everywhere. Then, I resume mixer use. The last burst of blending is no more than a minute, but sometimes I want to be thorough. Fill each baking cup/muffin slot about 2/3 full. Bake ~20 minutes at 350°. Let cool for 10-15 minutes, which is a perfect time to make the:

Powdered sugar glaze

2 c confectioner’s (powdered) sugar
3 T liquid –milk, water, juice, etc. (I used orange juice, it’s all I had anyway)
1/2 tsp. vanilla (optional– depending on the flavor you’re going for, you may not want to put in any extracts or oils– I used orange oil to match the juice, afterwards I felt it didn’t need it– as they may overpower the icing, which, when stirred,  only amounts to about a cup, give or take a few T.)
food coloring (optional)

Combine ingredients, mix until smooth. Use a whisk if you have one, it was a snap. I used it on muffins here, but I’m sure would work well on cookies, cake, or bread. This worked on fourteen muffins, so if you make more (i.e. the full cake recipe), adjust accordingly.

When icing, set out a sheet of wax paper  on a baking sheet (unless you want icing running off onto the counter), then arrange all the muffins together. If you used baking cups, remove them from the muffins, unless you want a concentrated later of icing only on top. I fancied having it all over the sides too, so I removed them. But it’s merely a preference. Once the muffins were arranged on the sheet, I drizzled the icing over them with a regular ol’ spoon (no have brush). Most of it is going to run everywhere, but that was my idea, to coat as much of the surface area as possible. I scooped up all the fallen icing and kept re-distributing them on the muffins. The icing will eventually harden and stay on, so just scoop and dump, until it all holds. It sounds tedious, but all the icing is used up this way, little is wasted. Then, I pulled out another sheet of wax paper, set it on another baking sheet, and transferred the finished cakes to the clean sheet. This last step is for presentation, I just didn’t want to serve them on a messy wax sheet. It helps to have a second baking sheet for transferring purposes, but otherwise, slide the sheet with the muffins off, drop the clean sheet on, then move some muffins.

As you see, they’re still kinda messy, though sculpting was not the aim this time. The icing appears pinkish, but it’s actually closer to a peachy orange. Light is tricky.

orange cc muffins

Darn glare. The mixing bowl sneaking in with the cameo. Sloppy, but fun.

orange cc muffins

Not that it helps much, aesthetically, but here's a close-up. Messy but charming, I think.

  1. really awesome cupcakes, Sir Hostess be thy name.

    • Thanks again for the propers, as Aretha would say. I was surprised to hear the response, albeit second-hand, mostly. Part of it is because I can be strong a critic on myself, for better or worse (mostly better, I think). I don’t judge myself too harshly, though for me, it’s important to keep walking the line between enjoying food, and thinking ahead how to improve on it. Granted, I think more about the details than most people, so if they enjoy it sincerely (often, I ask what could have been better, after giving my opinion first), I guess that’s what matters. (To be honest, it’s also I’m afraid of anything going to my head.)

      Well, now I gotta be sure to have powdered sugar on hand at all times now. Icing at the ready!

  2. […] uh, yeah. That just means the cinnamon cardamom ones I always make. I covered them in an orange glaze one time. This time I melted a few tablespoons of butter, applied butter to the muffins via gentle dipping, […]

  3. […] the baking science textbook– hooray! As the mouthful of a title suggests, these were the cinnamon cardamom muffins I’ve made many a time, but with the added excitement of using cake flour instead of pastry […]

  4. […] other is my cinnamon cardamom yellow cake, filled and iced with french buttercream (so rich, even I, the guy who doesn’t much cake, […]

Leave a Reply

