Sammy the Seal

Oatmeal raisin cooky

In delicious on Tuesday, 5 April, 2011 at 22:30

Wow, that photo is huge! Oh well, I’m just glad it’s not ugly. So yeah, your basic oatmeal raisin cookie. I borrowed it from here, mine went something like this:

1/2 c butter, softened
2/3 c brown sugar
1 egg
1/2 t vanilla extract
3/4 c flour
1/2 t baking soda
cinnamon (I eyed it while dashing, I don’t know how much it was– it’s up to you, anyhow, the power is yours!)
allspice (a dash or two)
1/4-1/2 t salt
1 1/2 c oats
3/4 c raisins (or dried cranberries, as I did the second time around)

In one bowl, cream the sugar, butter, egg, and vanilla until smooth. If tiny bits of butter are visible, i.e., the butter wasn’t softened enough, and you’re using a metal mixing bowl, you can put it on a burner on very low heat for about 30-45 seconds, then remove and finish blending with the mixer. (Guess how I know this…) In another bowl, mix the flour, salt, baking soda, and spices. Stir the dry mixture into the sugar/butter/etc. mix. (I didn’t even use a mixer for that part, they stir together quite easily, but still, be thorough.) Finally, stir in oats and raisins.

Now for the interesting part. According to the cooking blog I linked to above, the key to getting a thick, chewy cooky is to chill the dough before baking. I’m guessing that if you don’t, it will come out flatter and likely crispier, though I haven’t tried baking the dough from room temperature. I put mine– covered, of course– in the freezer 12-15 minutes, then baked (the recipe called for parchment paper on the baking sheet, though I only had wax. Edit: I bought the parchment paper for my second go-round, it is totally worth it) at 350° until the edges start to golden, roughly 12 minutes. (The center of the cookie will also tell you when the cookie is done, of course). I personally favored more minutes, since I was using chilled dough. I don’t have a cookie scoop at the moment, so my portion size was a heaping measuring tablespoon, making each blob about 1.5-2 T. I didn’t count, but I got about two dozen at that size. Nice for the bite-size crowd, though I next time I’ll be more generous when scooping out. I’m no timid, petite portion-eating wuss! (Be sure to increase the bake time a couple of minutes if you make them bigger, as I did the second time.) When removing the cookies from the oven, leave them on the baking sheet for a few minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack.

So even though I have no comparison with room temperature dough, the cookies did all maintain their shape and volume, chewy not crispy, and were still a teensy bit crumbly, but not messy. All went well, my inner perfectionist didn’t have too much to say, no one I shared with got sick (that I know about), but once again, I was reminded how badly I need to get a second baking sheet. Idiot.

Leave a Reply

