Sammy the Seal

“These leaves were falling anyway”

In vinyl on Monday, 4 April, 2011 at 22:17

Song: Sing Tomorrow’s Praise
Artist: Asobi Seksu
Album: Hush

Whew, finally! As something I was dying to share, this was a pretty obvious choice for my first song to stream. I can’t find this anywhere online, except in live form. Hey, if you want something done right, do it yourself. I can’t believe it’s nowhere to be found, because I think it’s the best song on Hush, no knock against the others. And, like “Strings” on Citrus, 1) I looked past it the first few times I heard it, 2) I now feel it’s one of their very best, and not coincidentally, 3) I love Yuki’s vocals.

I couldn’t quite put my finger on how to describe how this song makes me feel, but I recently came across someone else’s description, which I will now steal: “inspirational resilience.” Sounds kinda hokey, but it’s rather accurate, when I think about it. A perfect example of this can be found at the 0:40 mark, when the drum hits and releases the line “trees bend down and sway”– there’s something wondrous in that moment. It took me a little bit to open my mind to the shift in soundscape from Citrus, but I think it was a great choice, because Yuki clearly worked on her vocals, and here they’re pushed forward, showing how much they had grown from the previous two albums.

A song like this makes me appreciate the sonic deconstruction and re-direction between Citrus and Hush. The song feels big, and has some sweeping grandeur to it, but the music is neater and tidier, lending it a simple, personal feel. I think the previous feedback and sea of sound would’ve hurt this song especially– it’s essential that Yuki comes in crystal clear, especially on the last verse for her cry to “escape myself for one day.” Whether she’s pleading, hoping, or vowing, you’re either pulling for her, or going with her.

Inspirational resilience. Wish I’d thought of that.

Leave a Reply

