Sammy the Seal

“Desire, desire”

In vinyl on Wednesday, 2 March, 2011 at 3:15


Song: Sighs
Artist: Asobi Seksu
Album: Fluorescence

The new album’s been out a couple of weeks, but it takes time to review fairly, and I’m not the type to search for a leak before the release date. Any album worth its salt takes time to reveal itself, anyhow.. After all, Citrus took a couple of listens to get into, after which it took me weeks to extract myself from it. Hell, I initially shrugged at “Strings”, and then it became the third best song on the album, which is saying a lot. (Hush was a bit easier to get into, as the soundscape was a lot less dense.)

Like Citrus, it took some time to get into it, even with my degree of familiarity with the band. I like some tracks more than others, though most of the individual tracks taken separately don’t impress too much. That’s not a backhanded compliment, but a way of saying this album is more than the sum of its parts. As a whole, I quite enjoy it. Even at this early stage, I would rank it behind #1 Citrus, since Hush and the self-titled debut have too many (three each) songs that, though they contain segments that I enjoy, I consistently skip past. The only song here that doesn’t hold my attention is the opener “Coming Up” but one out of twelve certainly isn’t bad.

Anyway, this isn’t meant to be a review, but a track spotlight. “Trails” was a decent choice for first single, but “Sighs” ought to be second. It beats out “Trance Out” and “Perfectly Crystal” for best pop moment on the album, replete as it is with the classic dreamy, crystalline vocals and subtle harmonies I enjoy so much. The synths get dangerously overwhelming, but fortunately they’re held back, buffered by some Citrus-style guitar crunch at just the right moments. All that’s left is to decipher the lyrics so I can sing along the entire way.

Can’t wait to see them Friday night! 🙂

  1. […] Up* 2. Trails 3. My Baby 4. Perfectly Crystal* 5. In My Head* 6. Leave the Drummer Out There 7. Sighs 8. Deep Weird Sleep* 9. Counterglow 10. Ocean 11. Trance Out* 12.  Pink Light * […]

Leave a Reply

