Sammy the Seal

“Let me be loved”

In music videos, vinyl, words, words, words on Tuesday, 1 March, 2011 at 1:32


Song: More Adventurous
Artist: Rilo Kiley
Album: More Adventurous

I have a strange relationship  with this band. From the first few listens of their preceding album, The Execution Of All Things, I immediately felt a very strong sense of nostalgia, like this music was an old friend. Thing is, the music was released in 2002 and I only bought it last year. While attending the Austin City Limits music festival in 2005, I remember actually catching part of their set while waiting for another show, as I had heard at least the single for More Adventurous, “Portions For Foxes”, which is still quite good. Jenny was wearing a blue and yellow dress, and I actually do remember hearing “More Adventurous” even back then. (A line like “with every broken heart, we should become more adventurous” makes an impression on a photographic memory, even after just one utterance.) Why did it take me another five years to sit down and listen to them? No idea, though it’s probably the same reason it took me four years to get into Asobi Seksu even though I had heard the wonder of “Thursday” almost four years prior.

This here song is just the right amount of sweetness without getting maudlin, though it does come dangerously close. Between the sound and the lyrics, it should be cutesy and “aww” but comes out quite soulful. Lines like:

“I read with every broken heart, we should be more adventurous”
“I’d sacrifice money and heaven all for love– let me be loved”
“For me to saved and you to be brave we don’t have to walk down that aisle, ’cause if marriage ain’t enough, well, at least we’ll be loved”
“Get loved, make more, try to stay alive”

I’d normally find suspect. Cheap sentimental lyricism pisses me off. I feel it’s there to enable those with a teenage girl mentality to perpetuate unrealistic ideals and provide fodder for their diaries, and it’s usually proffered by tenors or sopranos. (Singing in a higher register sincerity, people.) Yet behind Jenny’s alto 🙂  I hear a real longing in those words. You can hear that through the crap we all go through, she, to paraphrase Toulouse-Lautrec (John Leguizamo) in Moulin Rouge, still longs for it with every fiber of her being. Like she really would sacrifice everything for love, or that love is really enough, and we don’t need all the pomp, ceremony, and idealistic accoutrements that are sold to us. The simplicity of the last quote is all you need to know.

Leave a Reply

