Sammy the Seal

“A wish can’t just choose to fall down by the wayside”

In vinyl on Wednesday, 2 February, 2011 at 8:05

Song: Familiar Light
Artist: Asobi Seksu
Album: Hush, Rewolf (acoustic version)
(Both are embedded, use the forward and back buttons on the player as needed!)

Usually it works the other way, but this is an uncommon example of a stripped-down version of a song opening up the original. This song is even prettier and more heartbreaking now that I know what she’s saying. Thank you, acoustic version, for letting me hear them clearly. Lyrics for you:

“I stared at the ceiling to regain some feeling
The days mixed with letdowns and comedowns and putdowns
There’s words and their feelings but none of them sit well
You say that you’re happy when no one believes you
So I just take my time
We’re treading deep water and can’t seem to come by any place where we can force ourselves to know
Where is the space in our heads for hopeful thoughts to grow
So now I hope you’ll rush to my side
A wish can’t just choose to fall down by the wayside

There’s bees in the attic
Acidic with panic
Bees in the attic
Acidic with panic

There’s pills, straws, and bottles for all our bruised feelings
They mixed well in person but sting when they’re leaving
So I will make up my mind
We’re treading deep water and can’t seem to come by any place where we can force ourselves to know
Where is the space in our heads for hopeful thoughts to grow
So now I hope you’ll rush to my side
We’ve threaded the needle and can’t find a way out

There’s bees in the attic
Acidic with panic
Bees in the attic
Acidic with panic”

(Personally, I have no idea what acidic bees have to do with anything, but it’s a gorgeous song nonetheless.)

Leave a Reply

