Sammy the Seal

In a teen pop song? Seriously?

In music videos, vinyl on Wednesday, 25 June, 2008 at 3:47


Song: Don’t Say You Love Me
Artist: M2M
Album: Shades of Purple

I was walking to the grocery store a couple of days ago when something astounding came into my headphones: real-world truth in a bubblegum pop song. Back in 1999, Norwegian cuties M2M had a single “Don’t Say You Love Me”. Not only is it catchy as hell, but it effectively, and cheerfully, cuts through all the bullshit that people (men, mostly) say to their significant other in order to, um, get what they want, wink wink. (I think all women can attest to this.) A few lyrics are standard teen pop fare, but take a look at that chorus and tell me you knew teen bubblegum could be that mature, frank, and possessing of restraint, while still sassy (“it’s not like we’re gonna get married”– zing!). Note: the single version of the song has “you sitting there you said you love me, what’s that about?”

Got introduced to you by a friend
You were cute and all that, baby you set the trend
Yes, you did, oh
The next thing I know, we’re down at the cinema
You sitting there, you start kissing me

What’s that about?

You’re moving too fast, I don’t understand you
I’m not ready yet, baby, I can’t pretend
No, I can’t
The best I can do is tell you to talk to me
It’s possible, eventual
Love will find a way

Chorus:
Don’t say you love me, you don’t even know me
If you really want me, then give me some time
Don’t go there, baby, not before I’m ready
Don’t say your heart’s in a hurry
It’s not like we’re gonna get married

Give me, give me some time

Here’s how I play, here’s where you stand
Here’s what to prove to get any further than where it’s been
I’ll make it clear, not gonna tell you twice
Take it slow, keep pushing me

You’re pushing me away

(Chorus)

Oh hell, here’s an ultra-cute video circa 2000 backstage before a show. I don’t care what you think, there’s something about their innocence (i.e., they’re not precocious teenage sex symbols like most singers) and their pure joy of performance that I find irresistible and quite charming. Marit Larsen, my favorite, is the guitarist. The second video is her performing a solo countryfied version of it after the group split up. She’s one “famous” person I’d actually want to meet, and not just because she’s a babe. Sorry, I’ll gush about Ms. Marit some other time.

  1. I’m so happy about this post! I used to — secretly — love these girls. The blond had a cute haircut when their first single came out, and I (tried) to copy it.

    I think I was 14.

Leave a Reply

